Bird

swooping-swallows

As I watched a bird swoop down from the lamppost,

As I watched its wings stretch open,

As I watched it spin with the wind,

I felt that I was the bird.

I was the bird that jumped from the lamp post,

I was the bird with its wings stretched open,

I was the bird that flew with the wind, and spun and spun with the breeze.

I was the bird that I could see

And – I wondered – how could I, who am so scared of heights,

Be the one who was the bird

And watch it fly with the breeze?

And – I wondered – how could I, who has never stretched her wings,

Feel the sensation of the bird on the tree –

The bird who went from lamppost to lamppost,

To the bird who went from lamppost to the streets,

To the bird who went to the trees

and into its nest – to its family.

As I watched the bird swoop down from the lamp post

I felt that I was the bird,

The bird with its wings stretched wide open,

The bird who glided with the breeze,

The bird who did all of these things that I could see,

in front of me,

and I was amazed.

I could feel my feathers stretch

As I opened my open wings.

I could feel the breeze tickle my skin

like the bird that I could see.

 

-lex

 

Leave a Reply

