Worrywart

worrywart_001_postcard-r3e6f4ee54d8048eb97f24060490cb505_vgbaq_8byvr_324
Image Taken via Google
wor-ry-wart

a person who worries too much or who worries about things that are not important

(Merriam-Webster Dictionary)

Lately, I have been worrying about minuscule things – some being: what will I eat, are my fingernails too long, my current financial issue, will I have to make dinner tonight, and will I have free time to just relax? I feel like these aren’t minuscule worries, aside from my fingernails and what I’ll eat, but I should worry less about them. The thing is, however, I can’t help it.

Once one worry goes away, another appears in its place. Sometimes, I find myself in this sort of lull where I can just be worry- and stress- free until the day comes that I realize I shouldn’t  be worry- and stress- free because there is actually something to be worried and stressed about.

For example: I was getting super stressed over my current work-load, school-wise, and then I had this pleasant week and weekend where I didn’t stress at all. I felt so fine with myself – like I could tackle anything. Once Sunday came rolling around, I was appalled with myself for having let go of all this work that needed to be done. I started stressing out and worrying over upcoming assignments and incoming classes and discussion posts/responses. By the end of that stressful week, I was too on edge to try and relax. I did my homework whenever I had free time and spent hours and hours reading theories and pedagogies rather than taking a break. I had a routine and I didn’t want to break it. I was in consistent worry.

Just like with the posts on my road to happiness and self-doubt, being a worry-wart is something I’m working on. It’s at a low point, as is happiness and self-doubt, but I can feel it rising up and beyond to a more positive light. There’s a Bible verse about worry that I should consistently keep in mind. It calms me to think about this. So, here’s the verse. I hope it’ll help someone else out there!

Proverbs 12:25 ~ Anxiety weighs down the heart, but a kind word cheers it up.

The reason why this verse will help me as I keep on worrying is because of what I should honestly keep in mind and what I should have kept in mind – the kind words or actions that people say and do unto me. As I am a worrywart, I end up thinking about myself and my worries, but, if I truly listen to those around me, I’ll come to the realization of the support people have for me and the kindness they give me. This should ease me because I’m not alone. I have a support system. I have plenty of people who will help me.

-lex

Leave a Reply

